Hospital Campus Police and Tasers?

This is a discussion on Hospital Campus Police and Tasers? within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm currently a Police Officer for a local Hospital Campus. Myself and the other officers are armed but only with a handgun. Most of our ...

Thread: Hospital Campus Police and Tasers?

Distinguished Member Array ArmyCop's Avatar

I'm currently a Police Officer for a local Hospital Campus. Myself and the other officers are armed but only with a handgun.
    Most of our problems - and they are frequent (our side of town seems to be a magnet to trouble) are such that don't require shooting and of course those causing the problems know this.
    Often scuffles and physical intervention is required to handle some of these situations, sometimes resulting in someone getting injured (the officer and the subject).
    We have asked for our policies to be changed to include the authorized use of Tasers which when required would greatly reduce injuries resulting getting into physical interventions (fights).
    I've been a reserve police officer for the city I live in since 1999 and a National Guard Combat MP for several years (served in Germany as well as Iraq).
    I know often just the presence and display of a taser can and often does deescalate what otherwise would require physical intervention (fighting) thus avoiding injury to the officer and the subject.
    Our director might can be persuaded to allow our use of Tasers IF I were able to present other cases where Hospital Officers are authorized to carry and perhaps examples of their use in situations.
    Sorry this is so long but bottom line is - do you know of any hospitals where the officers carry tasers? Enough info to allow me contact information to follow up?

Thanks in advance.
    For God, Family and Country!

PM sent.

Administrator