Bright but small?

This is a discussion on Bright but small? within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm looking for a flashlight which is suppose to be fairly small (3-4 inch), and that will have a high beam of about 170-200 lumen: ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bright but small?

Bright but small?

I'm looking for a flashlight which is suppose to be fairly small (3-4 inch), and that will have a high beam of about 170-200 lumen: I aslo would like it to have different light output modes.

I work as a police officer in plain clothes. I want the flashlight to be small to be able to conceal it. I want it to have a high beam that will light up a car for example at a distance. But I also want it to have different lightmodes that gives me a lower beam to use when i don't need the high output but rather have a longer burntime.

I have been looking at the Fenix P2D Q5.
    Would this be a good buy for my purpose or do you have better suggestions?

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Chooie's Avatar
    Do you have a budget? If you want the absolute top quality, best of the best multi-stage light, you would do well to buy a custom Milky ML1. This is a Surefire L1 modified by Scott Clawson, aka Milkyspit from CandlePowerForums. He charges anywhere from $85 and up to modify your Surefire L1. He replaces basically all the components in the head (LED, reflector instead of an optic, new lens) and modifies the switch assembly/driver to get your low and high levels where you want them.

There is more information in these threads than you will ever care to know!

Milky L1 Information Thread Part 2 - CandlePowerForums
    Milkyspit ML-1 vs. Surefire L-1 (old) & L-1 (new) - CandlePowerForums

Administrator
    I used my Surefire G3 and G2 with great success in a plain clothes role... and they are very reasonable on price as well.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Senior Member Array MilitaryPower's Avatar