Cleaning and lube

This is a discussion on Cleaning and lube within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am having my carry gun worked on soon. I'll be having the barrel and rod polished. I was reading information from the company doing ...

Thread: Cleaning and lube

Cleaning and lube

I am having my carry gun worked on soon. I'll be having the barrel and rod polished. I was reading information from the company doing the work. They say after the barrel has been polished regular gun oil will bead up.

I'm fairly new to concealed carry weapons but this is a gun I depend upon. So lubrication and performance are vital.

I've used my Hoppe's cleaning kit since I was first learning to shoot as a boy.

Will I need to change oil and lube products after having the barrel and rod polished?

For that matter, for a concealed carry gun that you depend on. What do most of you use for cleaning and lube?

2. Remove Ads

Senior Member Array Knuckledrager's Avatar
    Slip 2000 EWL.
    "The liberty of the individual is no gift of civilization. It was greatest before there was any civilization." Sigmund Freud

I'd use good old Castrol Syntech. I've used it for years since my IPSC days and it has never failed me. a quart should last you at east 2 years even if you shoot every weekend.

At 5 bucks a quart you can't beat it.
    "Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect everyone who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are inevitably ruined". - Patrick Henry

Cleaning

I use a lot of foaming Bore Cleaner for my personal guns as well as the range rentals I care for at the gunshop.
    Gunslick - Gun Care Made Easy - Cleaners-Degreasers
    Clean the residue away with a tiny bit of Gun Scrubber. Not a lot.
    Birchwood
    #9 for any other cleaning, also removed with GS. Also use their Copper solvent when needed.