Gas Masks: What are your reviews/preferences, for a SHTF option?

This is a discussion on Gas Masks: What are your reviews/preferences, for a SHTF option? within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey guys, For people who have experience with gas masks (purchased or tried out), what are your reviews/preferences as considering a gas mask as an ...

Thread: Gas Masks: What are your reviews/preferences, for a SHTF option?

Gas Masks: What are your reviews/preferences, for a SHTF option?

Hey guys,

For people who have experience with gas masks (purchased or tried out), what are your reviews/preferences as considering a gas mask as an addition to your home SHTF stash?

I've been checking out gas masks, kind of a low priority now, at Approved Gas Masks - NBC gas masks and gas mask safety supplies

2. Remove Ads

I have no experience with such - though it would probably be a good idea to get some. Expect to take some crap from anti-preparedness members.

Senior Moderator
    I have worn the Scott SCBA many times when fighting fires. It worked well.

I used to wear the MSA (single and double cartridge)at work when machining radioactive parts. The metal chips and particles coming off of the piece due to the machine process was radioactive and did not need to be breathed. Nothing like operating a lathe wearing anti-C's a couple of pairs of rubber gloves and a fogged up gas mask where you could barely see what you were doing.

The MSA works well. I still have to go through a yearly re-qual where the mask is donned, you do some exercises, and read some sentences while being hooked up to a computerized smoke generator that reads the PPM concentration both in and out of the mask.

Most of the Police around here use the MSA or the Advantage when using gas. They work well.

Have you ever won a mask for any period of time?
    It sucks...no pun intended.