.223 cartridge overall length

This is a discussion on .223 cartridge overall length within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; ok. i'm new to reloading. my hornady book shows 55gr loads seated to a COL of 2.200 but in the specs in the beginning of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .223 cartridge overall length

ok. i'm new to reloading. my hornady book shows 55gr loads seated to a COL of 2.200 but in the specs in the beginning of .223 chapter, it shows maximum of 2.260. i've been using remington lead tip bullets and have been loading them to about 2.200 col. then i switched to remington FMJ and noticed that when i seat them at 2.200 that i can push the bullet right in the shell with my fingers. i played around and have noticed that in order for me to not be able to push the bullet in with my fingers, that i have to seat them to a COL of 2.260.

i notice that when i load them to COL of 2.260 and chamber the round in my AR that the bullet DOES engage the rifling. (i can see scratch marks on the bullet and it is somewhat difficult to extract the round with the charging handle.)

questions:

is it the shape of the bullet that is causing the FMJ to push in easier? (I'm using the same brass)

is it ok for the bullet to engage the rifling like that when chambered?

how do you determine the proper COL when your reloading book doesn't address that specific bullet?

thanks so much for your help in my dilemma.

adam

The max OAL in all my manuals is 2.260.
    Quote Originally Posted by spyshot View Post
    questions:

is it the shape of the bullet that is causing the FMJ to push in easier? (I'm using the same brass)
    You should NOT be able to push a seated round into a case with just finger pressure. Either you are not properly resizing the case neck or you are expanding the neck in the powder die and then not crimping it in the seating die.