Hornady XTP

Hornady XTP

This is a discussion on Hornady XTP within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm new to reloading and recently started to reload some SD loads I did some Speer 230 gr GD's which are going to the range ...

Thread: Hornady XTP

Hornady XTP

I'm new to reloading and recently started to reload some SD loads I did some Speer 230 gr GD's which are going to the range today to check on function,but I was thinking about the XTP bullet Until I heard some really disturbing info I was wondering if others could validate.
    The round does not expand,better off with a fmj.Problems with feeding have to play with the .oal,going over suggested .oal We all like to save a little $,but to me $7-$8 on a box of 100 is well worth the insurance on an SD round if I know it's going to expand and I don't have to play around going over the recommended .OAL of a bullet to make it function properly.
    have other's experienced problems with the XTP round reloading it? I don't want to throw away $ trying to save a few dollars.With the .45 do we really need a expanding hp anyway,I'm a Vet I used the .45 and I never experienced or saw a case of over penetration with the FMJ,but with everyone screaming Law Suit,I figured I better carry a HP to be safe in civilian life.

Quote Originally Posted by ECHOONE View Post
    I'm new to reloading and recently started to reload some SD loads I did some Speer 230 gr GD's which are going to the range today to check on function,but I was thinking about the XTP bullet Until I heard some really disturbing info I was wondering if others could validate.