Defensive Carry banner

What .357 magnum bullets for SD?

7K views 27 replies 13 participants last post by  boscobeans 
#1 ·
I am new to reloading, and just starting to assemble components.

I have been doing some research online, and I think I have pretty much settled on a 125 grain bullet. I will be pushing it out of my 3" revolver at around 1300-1400 fps, but I am open to other opinions on what speed/weight combination is the most effective.

Pretty much I want to get opinions on what 125 grain projectile has the best ballistics at those speeds for self defense. If I do go with 125 grain bullets, I will probably buy the cheapest copper plated 125 grain bullets to shoot for fun (loaded to the same specs), so I am willing to pay a little more for the bullets that I will carry. They're not going to be shot very often, but if I need it, I want the best projectile there is.

So let me know. Would you go with Speer Gold Dot 125 gr? Golden Saber? Hornady XTP? Magtech?

Do you think I should go with a different weight bullet?

Open to any and all suggestions.

Thanks,

funk

See less See more
#5 ·
They're silver! What are they made out of? I know I said I didn't care about the price (and really I don't), but those things are more expensive then loaded ammo!

Guantes, I remember reading online that the consensus seemed to be 125 grain bullets were the best projectile against humans, why do you think a 145 grain bullet would be better.

BTW I also am referring to slugs for reloading. Bullet in the proper sense of the word, not a loaded cartridge. I could not find any of the other suggestions for sale (as bullets), they seem to be all loaded ammunition.

Does anyone know of a head to head study of .357 bullet (slug, not loaded ammo) expansion/penetration characteristics?

#6 ·