What .357 magnum bullets for SD?

This is a discussion on What .357 magnum bullets for SD? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am new to reloading, and just starting to assemble components. I have been doing some research online, and I think I have pretty much ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What .357 magnum bullets for SD?

I am new to reloading, and just starting to assemble components.

I have been doing some research online, and I think I have pretty much settled on a 125 grain bullet. I will be pushing it out of my 3" revolver at around 1300-1400 fps, but I am open to other opinions on what speed/weight combination is the most effective.

Pretty much I want to get opinions on what 125 grain projectile has the best ballistics at those speeds for self defense. If I do go with 125 grain bullets, I will probably buy the cheapest copper plated 125 grain bullets to shoot for fun (loaded to the same specs), so I am willing to pay a little more for the bullets that I will carry. They're not going to be shot very often, but if I need it, I want the best projectile there is.

So let me know. Would you go with Speer Gold Dot 125 gr? Golden Saber? Hornady XTP? Magtech?

Do you think I should go with a different weight bullet?

Open to any and all suggestions.

Thanks,

funk

Federal product #357B has a long time reputation for real world results. I also like corbon DPX offering, and buffalo bore "tactical" 125 gr. load.
    "Don't start none, won't be none!"

They are not always available, but when they are I consider the Winchester 145gr Slivertips to be a very good choice. I am referring to the slugs for reloading.
    Last edited by Guantes; June 13th, 2010 at 02:29 AM.

Black Hills factory new ammo in 357 125 gr JHP a great SD ammo

Quote Originally Posted by Guantes View Post