help with first loading press and parts choices.

This is a discussion on help with first loading press and parts choices. within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; with the high cost and short supply of ammo, i need to start rolling my own. i have no mentors' to learn from in physical ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: help with first loading press and parts choices.

with the high cost and short supply of ammo, i need to start rolling my own.

i have no mentors' to learn from in physical form. the next best thing is my internet forums brethren, so any tid bits of guidence will go a long way. all i can do is read, read and more reading, followed by thousands of noobie questions.

my wife and i have applied for our cpl's, and of course bought new pistols. i have been an avid hunter my whole life and have several guns. i'm by no means a pro shooter, more of an advancing amatuer.
    although my wife has limited shooting experience, her skills are coming along nicely.

needless to say these shooting sessions are eatting up some funds quickly.

the two main guns i plan to load for are a ruger sr9c and a S&W m&p..357sig also a compact. later on a .44mag 45lc, .243, .270, 30 06 and some others.

my budget being what it is, miniscule. a low budget starter set up is in order.
    i've been looking around and decided that a lee turrent press would suit my needs. having several turrent plates set up to drop in would be nice.

i'd like to break my cherry on the 9X19 case followed by the .357sig
    i have ordered a sand lake 9mm conversion barrel for the m&p to cut down on shooting costs.

the lee classic turrent in kit form is my choice.

although i don't know what to look for in a good die set. i've looked at the many dies available from different makers. i think i can swing for the carbide dies to start. i'm leaning toward the lee deluxe set for the 9mm.