Square Deal B or 550 ?

Square Deal B or 550 ?

This is a discussion on Square Deal B or 550 ? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Howdy all, I'm planning to start reloading one handgun caliber soon. I've been shooting for a few years, but have been away from the reloading ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Square Deal B or 550 ?

Square Deal B or 550 ?

Howdy all,

I'm planning to start reloading one handgun caliber soon. I've been shooting for a few years, but have been away from the reloading press for twenty years, so you could say I'm a newbie starting from scratch.

I'm primarily wanting to load handgun, .45 ACP, and was considering a SDB. Space is somewhat limited, as my reloading bench will take the place of my desk in the spare bedroom, which was until recently the computer room. Being that the amount of space I have is limited, and that I don't plan to reload rifle calibers for at least two more years, I was strongly leaning towards the SDB.

One of my buddies, a former licensed reloader, ATF Class VI License IIRC, has advised me to go with the 550. he makes a strong argument for the 550 and almost has me sold. Being that space is at a premium, and that I have no intention of reloading rifle calibers in the near future, I was wanting a SDB dedicated to just .45 ACP. My intention was to put a Lee Turret Press, or even a Rock Chucker in the garage to handle the much smaller amount of rifle ammunition I would reload. The rifle calibers I plan to reload are .223/5.56 and .375 H&H. The amount of rifle ammunition that I plan to produce is in the neighborhood of 500 rounds/year with the majority of that being .223/5.56.