Reloading advice

This is a discussion on Reloading advice within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm looking to possibly get into reloading .380, 9mm, and .45. I'm looking for some advice on how to get started and what I need ...

Thread: Reloading advice

Distinguished Member Array skysoldier29's Avatar

Reloading advice

I'm looking to possibly get into reloading .380, 9mm, and .45. I'm looking for some advice on how to get started and what I need to get to get the ball rolling. I'm a complete novice reloading, and looking for equipment, and recommended places to buy stuff. My shooting habit is getting expensive now that my girlfriend is into shooting.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array razor02097's Avatar
    first and foremost... read, read, read! Get some reloading books ("recipe" books) to figure out what kind of load you want.

When you are ready you will need a press, dies of each caliber, scale, dial caliper, and brass prep supplies. Depending on how much you want to reload it may be easier for you to get a turret style press. This way you can swap out the shell holder and top to a different caliber. The only down side is it is slower than a progressive style press. I use LEE precision products and can't complain. They are cheap and reliable starting out you can't beat their prices.

For reloading supplies you will need bullets, powder, primers and either spent brass or new brass.

The books will tell you more than you will ever need to know about actually how to and what to do when it comes to the reloading part.
    There is something about firing 4,200 thirty millimeter rounds/min that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

read as much as you can before you buy anything.
    An armed man is a citizen. An unarmed man is a subject.

Red State State of Mind

The members above have given you good advice. Some additional thoughts: