3 or 4 piece dies for 9mm?

This is a discussion on 3 or 4 piece dies for 9mm? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Putting an order in to Midway and wondered if it was worth the extra change to get the 4 piece Lee dies over the 3. ...

Thread: 3 or 4 piece dies for 9mm?

Putting an order in to Midway and wondered if it was worth the extra change to get the 4 piece Lee dies over the 3. Also would rather reload one bullet weight to simplify things and wanted input into which one. The 124 jhp is high on my list as is the 147 gr. but I have no experience with the 9, so I am seeking advice from those who do. I will use the load for plinking, target, defense and woods loafing/hunting. Thanks in advance, and Merry Christmas!
    "You don't have a soul, you are a soul. You have a body." CS Lewis

S&W .41 Mag - Colt DS - Ruger Single Six - Ruger Security Six - Buckmark-Beretta 21A - S&W 351PD 22 Mag- Spfld XD 9mm -- Plenty Of Long Guns--- Dry Powder and RCBS.

VIP Member
    I use and prefer the four die set for 40S&W, 45ACP and 9MM. My experience is the taper crimp works much better than trying to use the roll crimp of the three die set.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

I use 3 die sets, and haven't had any trouble out of them. I think it is going to be a matter of personal preference.

I tend to stick with one grain of lead for loading. For 9's I use 124 gr, because that is what I carry for SD ammo.

If I have to I will use 115 or something else if the 124 isn't available, I am after all just using them for range ammo.
    Just remember that shot placement is much more important with what you carry than how big a bang you get with each trigger pull.
    www.ddchl.com
    Texas CHL Instructor
    Texas Hunter Education Instructor
    NRA Instructor

VIP Member
    Hiding inside a bottle of Jim Beam Black.