Primer Pocket Cleaning Frequency

This is a discussion on Primer Pocket Cleaning Frequency within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am just getting into reloading metalic cartridges as my wife got me a nice press and dies for Christmas that I went out and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primer Pocket Cleaning Frequency

VIP Member

Primer Pocket Cleaning Frequency

I am just getting into reloading metalic cartridges as my wife got me a nice press and dies for Christmas that I went out and picked up after New Year. My local supplier does not have a primer pocket cleaner. That is the only thing I am waiting on from mail order that keeps me from completing rounds. I have ordered the Lee tool with both the large and small cleaners on the opposite ends of the same tool, but it is not in yet.

I am curious if you all clean the primer pocket every time or only when it is gunked up a good bit. I shot some factory rounds yesterday and came home and cleaned & sized the brass. I made a dummy round (no powder or primer) to get the expanding & bullet setting/taper crimp dies set up.

I am ready to go except for the small amount of dirt in the pockets. I appreciate the input from this forum.
    It's the Land of Opportunity, not the Land of Entitlements - Vote America!!!

"When governments fear the people there is liberty. When the people fear the government there is tyranny." Thomas Jefferson

You are only paranoid until you are right - then you are a visionary.

2. Remove Ads

I clean out the primer pockets everytime I reload a batch of shells. A Dremel tool with the little bristle brush bit makes short work of the job. And you can do it while you're watching TV.

al
    "gettin' there is half the fun."

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap