Help with .45 ACP bullet selection

This is a discussion on Help with .45 ACP bullet selection within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am just beginning reloading and I was curious what most people use as far as bullet types. When I have purchased ammo, I always ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with .45 ACP bullet selection

Help with .45 ACP bullet selection

I am just beginning reloading and I was curious what most people use as far as bullet types. When I have purchased ammo, I always shot 230 grain FMJ. I see the price to use cast lead is much cheaper. What are the downsides? What about using the plated lead? Is it better? Is FMJ worth the additional cost? I will be reloading these to shoot in my Springfield Armory Loaded Champion SS. Thanks for any help.

2. Remove Ads

The 200 gr lead semi-wadcutter is sort of the classic bullet for reloads. You'll always get a trace (or more) of leading shooting unjacketed bullets, but look at the cost savings compared to 10 extra minutes to get lead out of your bore once a month.

Is FMJ worth the cost? Only you can decide what's right for you. If you don't shoot a lot, then I'd say 'probably.'

I would run up a batch of plated bullets and compare their performance to that of lead - accuracy, velocity, cleanliness, then make a decision.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

I would take the above advice and run with it.

The only thing I can add to Gasmitty's advice is that if you have a problem feeding the 200g LSWC is try different mags. I have a 1911 that feeds LSWC 100% with Wilson mags but stumbles every once in a while with factory mags. Same gun feeds hardball and hollowpoints just fine with either mag.
    Good people do not need laws to tell them to act responsibly, while bad people will find a way around laws. Plato

Administrator