need advice for equipment

This is a discussion on need advice for equipment within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; i have been realoading rifle brass for a few years now and want to start for my pistolas' i have a single stage redding press ...

i have been realoading rifle brass for a few years now and want to start for my pistolas'

i have a single stage redding press (thing is built like a tank) i want to get some of these dies in 9mm and 45acp:
    Lee Deluxe Carbide 4-Die Set 9mm Luger - MidwayUSA

what do you think?

without reading anything about pistol reloading how does it differ from reloading for my rifles? any different steps specific for handguns?

im i good with a single stage? or should i get something like this:
    Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press Kit 45 ACP - MidwayUSA

i want good equipment but i dont want to spend the kind of $$ i did when i got started with rifle reloading. i shoot long range and got some really expensive equipment when i started out. with pistols i want cheap but good because i want to put alot of lead down range.

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap
    First off, make sure Redding accepts the standard die threads. Some brands do not. For some reason I thought Redding uses a different thread.

I started out with a Herter's single-stage press (tougher than a tank!) and still use it, although these days I do most of my resizing with a Lee hand press while relaxing in my recliner. I'm not too concerned with speed or massive quantities of rounds, so the single stage still works for me. I only load pistol rds these days.

The Lee progressive will get the job done at a low investment cost. I prefer to use powder dropper over the auto-comp, but each to their own. The progressive will definitely have an advantage with loading larger quantities, but the potential of making a mistake increases.