Choosing an Entry Level Reloading Press + Book

This is a discussion on Choosing an Entry Level Reloading Press + Book within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm new to reloading and am looking for a starter kit. Despite what I've read on some forums, the Lee kit seems to be highly ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Choosing an Entry Level Reloading Press + Book

I'm new to reloading and am looking for a starter kit. Despite what I've read on some forums, the Lee kit seems to be highly rated as an entry-level, starter kit. For the price, you get a lot of bang for your buck (no pun intended).

I plan on reloading some 9mm Luger and .38 Special to start. Seems like I could buy one of these kits, the appropriate shell holders/dies, and a few other things (primers, brass, calipers, and power too) and I'd be set.

Any thoughts on why you would choose one kit over the other? I read that one of them has a hand primer and the other one is built in. Is it just a matter of preference?

Lee Precision: Breech Lock Challenger Kit

Lee Precision: 50th Anniversary Breech Lock Challenger Kit

For the book, should I get the Lyman or ABC's of Reloading?

Amazon.com: Lyman 49Th Edition Reloading Handbook HarDCover: Sports & Outdoors

Amazon.com: The ABCs Of Reloading: The Definitive Guide for Novice to Expert (9781440213960): Rodney James: Books

for rifle, that lee is fine, not for pistol though.... get at least a lee turret press and if you can, the loadmaster..

Personally if it was me I would spend more and get more. Lee has some ok loading equipment. Some is good some not so much. If you can afford this then by all means you will be much better served and this will last you for the rest of your life and you will pass it down to your kids.
    Rock Chucker Supreme Single Stage Press Master Kit
    May be able to find it cheaper with a little shopping around.
    bmcgilvray, Sharkman and Fitch like this.