If I wanted to reload?

If I wanted to reload?

This is a discussion on If I wanted to reload? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I have been shooting for over 50 years never reload anything. Not even shot gun. Have a bit more time on my hands now and ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: If I wanted to reload?

If I wanted to reload?

I have been shooting for over 50 years never reload anything. Not even shot gun.
    Have a bit more time on my hands now and would like to reload 9mm and possibly 380's.
    Recommend setups to look at I want.
    1.Quality I don't like junk anything
    2. Easy of use
    3. Every thing need and the good to have in one package if possible.
    4. Any loading I do will be to factory spec's not interested custom loads.
    I would be loading 115 ball,115 JHP and 124 JHP 9mm
    380 would be 95 ball and 95 flat.
    I am listen give me some option to look at.

I guess the first question you need to ask is how many rounds a month do you expect to reload. If it is only a couple of hundred a single stage press would be fine, is a lower cost option, and it would certainly be easy to use. As you go up in round count you could consider a turret or progressive press. My initial advice is to get a copy of the Lyman reloading manual and the ABCs of Reloading and see what your options are and what you would be getting into. Also, other internet sites like GlockTalk, BrianEnos, and a few others have some valuable introductory information (stickies) on reloading that would help in your decision.

With that out of the way, Kempf's Gun Shop (online) has a pretty good deal (about $220 with an upgrade on the powder measure) for a Lee Classic Turret Press kit if you end up looking in that direction. In addition to such a kit, I think you would need calipers, a tumbler, and powder scale to get started. That would probably add another $100+ to your cost.

Good luck!