?Loading .308 and .243 for consistant performance?

This is a discussion on ?Loading .308 and .243 for consistant performance? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; My search capabilities are extremely limited. I either get 300 threads that have every/any possible combination of key words or a "zero found". So, if ...

Sponsor

My search capabilities are extremely limited. I either get 300 threads that have every/any possible combination of key words or a "zero found". So, if all I get are directions to relevant posts that's great!

I've been reloading hand gun ammo for a few years and have had good results. I am not super critical of my charges and have had good luck with the Lee turret set up and their powder disc charger. As long as I keep the hopper better than half full and keep my actions consistent, I get reasonably consistent loads.

I recently(yesterday) picked up a Lee Challenger, 50th Anniversary kit for loading .308, .243 and .223. I want to start doing more shooting for tight groups and accuracy at longer ranges and want get serious about loading for consistent performance, especially in the .308win.

The Perfect Powder Measure that came with the press seems to be on the same level with the disc measure as far as repeatability. I tried for a 37.5 gr charge with Varget powder and was getting anywhere from 37.3 to 37.7 gr as measured on the balance scale.

Is this enough variation to warrant a better/ more consistent measure? If so, is there any real advantage to going with one of the automated measure/scales like the Hornady Lock N Load Auto Charge Powder Measure over a good trickler? Are they faster? I don't see how they could be any more accurate than using a powder trickler and a good scale. So, what do you get for the $200+ price increase? And, while I'm asking for someone else to do my research for me, who makes the best powder trickler?

ETA:
    I hate that I cannot edit my spelling typo in the title!