Going To Start Reloading ...

This is a discussion on Going To Start Reloading ... within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Hey guys, I have been reading a lot on the Internet, watching YouTube videos etc. I have ZERO experience reloading anything, so this is all ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Going To Start Reloading ...

Hey guys, I have been reading a lot on the Internet, watching YouTube videos etc. I have ZERO experience reloading anything, so this is all going to be totally new to me.

I am clearing my bench and re organizing the garage a little to get a nice space set up. I do not have any equipment as of yet, but I have been researching a ton. I will be loading .380, .38 special, .40 s&w, and .45 acp (I believe I will "cut my teeth on the .45)

So far here is what I am thinking as far as equipment goes:
    -Manuals ...

-Lee 50th Anniversary Breech Lock Loading Kit

-Lee Carbide Pistol Die Set (should I get the 3 die set, or the deluxe with the 4th die?)

-Lee Breech Lock Quick Change Bushings (do you need one for each die?? ... Like you need 3 quick change bushings for a 3 piece die set??)

-MTM Universal Loading Blocks

-Bullet Puller

-Caliper

-Obviously Components ...

Since I have not saved my brass over the years, I will be starting with new brass, and will eventually add a tumbler to clean brass.

Is there anything else that I am missing to get started? Anything that I don't need that I have listed?? Anything that you would substitute??

Thanks so much!!
    Michael

VIP Member
    You will need a trimmer, Lee makes them for each caliber and they are cheap. Even the new brass needs to be trimmed.
    I like to prep the flash holes on new brass and get rid of the burrs. I also like to clean up the inside and out side edge of the mouth with a champfer tool. You will need to clean the primer pockets on used brass.