Having problems with AE 9mm rounds that arent extracting properly

This is a discussion on Having problems with AE 9mm rounds that arent extracting properly within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Im new to reloading i have a Dillion 550b and i ve started reloading 9mm now ive consulted my book many times checked my measurements ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Having problems with AE 9mm rounds that arent extracting properly

Im new to reloading i have a Dillion 550b and i ve started reloading 9mm now ive consulted my book many times checked my measurements and they are all ok but when i go to fire my newly made rounds through my Sig Sauer p226 it turns in to a single shot it stoppage after stoppage the weapon does not want cycle completely 99% of the time the brass doesnt extract at all or stove pipes. Ive fired many factory made rounds through my weapon and never have a stoppage. I dont know where to go from here and need some help figuring out what it is im doing wrong..

Under-powered rounds, maybe? What powder load are you using, and with what bullet?

Im using 147 gr(Cam pro) bullet and the Powder im using is Universal with a charge of 3.3 and thats what the book is telling me to use. ive also notice when remove my barrel and drop a factory made round it goes in with ease and can be turn by hand in either direction but when i take my round that i have made it does sit perfectly like the factory you have kinda press it down but if i do i noticed it kinda of sticks a bit and not able to turn the round inside the chamber freely like the factory round. Could it be that my over all length is to long and needs to be shortened?

Did you check the cases before you loaded them to see if they needed trimmed?

brass is at proper length