Maybe I'm not looking in the right places?

This is a discussion on Maybe I'm not looking in the right places? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; So I'm looking to get into reloading I have a bunch of stuff already priced out and ready to buy only things left on my ...

Thread: Maybe I'm not looking in the right places?

So I'm looking to get into reloading I have a bunch of stuff already priced out and ready to buy only things left on my list are actual materials primers,bullets, brass. I was under the impression that reloading was supposed to save you money in the long run (other than the fact that people say you end up shooting more). But, when I look up supplies I'm seeing bullets 100 for around 26 dollars. I can buy 100 full rounds of WWB at wal mart for 34 dollars. So here is my question. Is there really only a savings if I buy in bulk? Or where am I going wrong in my supply searches? like I said I'm new to this. Be gentle. And any overall advice would be great. Let me know where you guys buy. What you recommend. How much you purchase at a time. Etc. thanks in advance.

VIP Member
    Buying bullets by the 100 does get pricy and usually works for reloading rifle with the exception for .223 or 30 cal where you are better off buying in bulk. As far as pistol calibers yes your biggest savings will be buying in bulk and you will not believe how fast you can go through a box of 500 bullets.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

VIP Member
    Hiding inside a bottle of Jim Beam Black.