Alliant Power Pistol powder

This is a discussion on Alliant Power Pistol powder within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Loaded some test rounds today I've never used this powder before 9mm 115gr FMJ CCI #500 Small Pistol Primer Alliant Power Pistol dispensed from a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Alliant Power Pistol powder

Loaded some test rounds today I've never used this powder before

9mm 115gr FMJ
    CCI #500 Small Pistol Primer
    Alliant Power Pistol dispensed from a .5g Lee Powder Dipper
    C.O.L. 1.150"

Rounds were "snappy". And pretty loud. And a goodly amount of muzzle flash but not overly so.

Published velocity for this round is 1186 FPS. That's pretty speedy!
    Last edited by ThePontificator; August 26th, 2012 at 10:10 AM.

So what was the actual velocity of your loads?
    Ignorance is a long way from stupid, but left unchecked, can get there real fast.

That's one of the Alliant powders I've not sampled. In burning rate it sort of falls in between Unique and Herco I think, a bit slower than Unique and a bit quicker than Herco.
    Charter Member of the DC .41 LC Society "Get heeled! No really"

“No possible rapidity of fire can atone for habitual carelessness of aim with the first shot.”

Theodore Roosevelt, The Wilderness Hunter, 1893

I bet he's flying by Visual Flight Rules.

Gman, what's your chronograph? That's percolating up to the top of the wish list, now that I'm loading for the majors (i.e., Garand).
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member
    NROI Chief Range Officer

The burning rate ought to deliver near top velocities at 9mm case capacity and operating pressures. I've not played with 9mm loads extensively but have obtained top performance with Unique while maintaining what appeared to be safe pressures. Blue Dot gave lower velocities. It'd be nice to play the field with 115, 125, and 147 grain bullet and a host of powders.