185 gr FMJ

185 gr FMJ

This is a discussion on 185 gr FMJ within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Guys, I handloaded for the first time these 185 FMJ's for my Gov't model Kimber in 45ACP. I used 5.1 gr of HP-38, and each ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: 185 gr FMJ

185 gr FMJ

Guys,
    I handloaded for the first time these 185 FMJ's for my Gov't model Kimber in 45ACP.
    I used 5.1 gr of HP-38, and each of them had an AOL of 1.21 to 1.23. Width's were all around the .475 range.
    Even though I'm just beginning at handloading, I've loaded and shot almost 1,000 rnds and to date the worst thing I had happen was one stovepipe.
    Then I shot these. If I was lucky I would get three off before my slide would stop about 1/2" from going all the way forward. I'd have to use all my strength to get the slide back to eject the round. Even though I saw no physical damage to any of the rounds, 6 out of the 25 caused this. Actually, it may have been more, but I stopped after my 6th issue and just put them aside.
    Has anyone run into this issue before? I've been shooting 230 gr round lead; 185 gr XTP; 200 gr XTP; 185 gr LSWC with no issues.
    Could it be this bullet just doesn't go well with 1911's?

PS-- the 185 XTP is the sweetest round I've ever shot. FAR more accurate with it than any off the shelf ammo I've been wasting my money on. 185 GR FMF.jpg

Distinguished Member Array Hoganbeg's Avatar
    If I understand you correctly the slide is failing to chamber the loaded round. I would say that the problem is that bullet shape won't feed because the truncated cone's angle is too steep and short. A normal; 185 bullet has a hollow point so the angle would be less acute and the nose longer.

Are you removing the magazine when you clear the stoppage? It might make it easier as it would remove the upward pressure on the bottom of the slide.