9mm OAL Question

This is a discussion on 9mm OAL Question within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm having a problem with consistency in my OAL for 9mm Luger. I'm loading Hornady 115gn XTP. Lee lists min. OAL at 1.125. To me ...

Thread: 9mm OAL Question

9mm OAL Question

I'm having a problem with consistency in my OAL for 9mm Luger. I'm loading Hornady 115gn XTP. Lee lists min. OAL at 1.125. To me that seems a bit long for a hollow point. Anyway that's not my problem. I set my seating die to to seat appx 1.075 but my loads are coming out anywhere from 1.065 & 1.090. I figured since I'm not seperating my brass by manufacturer, head stamp etc. that may be my problem. So rather than seperate them I figured I'd trim about 10 cases to the same length as a test. Well after loading those 10, my OAL are still ranging from 1.065 to 1.090. I am new to reloading, and I'm sure this may be a no brainer to the more seasoned vets of the trade. But I'm always up for a good lesson, and the guys and gals on this forum have given some good direction and great advice in the past. Thx
    S&W M&P 9c
    S&W 1911
    Glock 20
    Kel-Tec P-11
    Stag Arms 2T
    Benelli m2

"Your freedom to be you includes my freedom to be free from you"
    "CAPITALISM IS BOSS"  Andrew Wilkow

2. Remove Ads

My first thought is that you are trying to seat the bullets too deep, the brass is thicker and is pushing them back up. Minimum OAL and you want to go .050 shorter? Why?

Austin

I also have to ask why you're trying to load them that short? Did you do a "plunk test" on the loads to determine that you needed such a short round. I load Hornady 115XTP's and set my OAL to 1.142, which runs fine in numerous 9mm and still fit all my various magazines.