What to pick up at a gun show?

This is a discussion on What to pick up at a gun show? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am new to reloading, as in I have never done it. I got a progressive press, Hornady Lock n Load AP, and will begin ...

Thread: What to pick up at a gun show?

What to pick up at a gun show?

I am new to reloading, as in I have never done it. I got a progressive press, Hornady Lock n Load AP, and will begin with loading .45 acp. I have dies and shell plate on the way. More importantly I have Lyman's manual, #49 I believe, and Hornadys as well. Got the Hornady one as it was said to specifically list info for Hornady bullets, it was inexpensive and the press came with a rebate for 500 "free" bullets.

There is a gun show this coming weekend in my area. I am hoping the manuals come in the next day or two and I can read them completely but I am looking for suggestions as to what I should look for at the gun show, as it pertains to reloading. Components are my main concern for a variety of reasons. Have (most) of what I need as in equipment. Ammo is getting expensive, hence the desire to handload. It also excites me to be more involved in the entire process and I appreciate the understanding I am hoping to get from it.

Found out shipping powder and even primers needs a $27.50 haz mat shipping fee. I think that the things I am most interested in are brass and powder/primers. Not even sure if they can be sold at gun shows as I have never looked. What powder should I look for as is most commonly mentioned/used in YOUR reloading? If powder and primers are not allowed at gun shows I may swing by some LGSs on my way home to see what is available from them ,but again as I have never looked, I have never seen who has and doesn't carry it.

Appreciate it!
    BigJon

"Better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt" ~ Mark Twain

2. Remove Ads