Prepping brass

Prepping brass

This is a discussion on Prepping brass within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I just ordered 500 starline nickle-plated brass. Is there anything I need to do to prep new brass? Do I need to push it through ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By glockman10mm

Thread: Prepping brass

Prepping brass

I just ordered 500 starline nickle-plated brass. Is there anything I need to do to prep new brass? Do I need to push it through the sizing die? This is my first time fooling with new brass.

VIP Member
    Hiding inside a bottle of Jim Beam Black.
    Not sure why you chose nickel-plated brass as it doesn't last as long.

1. Check to make sure the length is correct. I've never had to trim pistol brass but sometimes new brass isn't up to specs.
    2. Resize and load. That way you're starting from a know size condition.
    Retired USAF E-8. Lighten up and enjoy life because:
    Paranoia strikes deep, into your heart it will creep. It starts when you're always afraid... "For What It's Worth" Buffalo Springfield

Nickle was the only brass available. I wish the regular brass was in stock, but beggars can't be choosy. Thanks.

Distinguished Member Array dangerranger's Avatar
    I trim, resize, and wash them before use. Just so they are in spec before I start. It also lets me put a slightly larger bell on the case the first use. DR

I have never done anything to new brass but load and shoot.
    dukalmighty, jem102 and msgt/ret like this.
    Ignorance is a long way from stupid, but left unchecked, can get there real fast.

cool thanks guys

Pretty much what everyone else said here. I havent used new brass yet just range pick ups. And I sort and tumble before reloading.

I do size new brass, just like I would for range pick-up; but I do not trim. Measuring and trimming would be okay if you were are competition target shooter and had a lot of time on your hands.