An after action review of my new Lee Single Stage press

This is a discussion on An after action review of my new Lee Single Stage press within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Ok, so this past Tuesday my Lee Challenger Breechlock press came in. I'm new to the mysterious craft of reloading, but have learned a couple ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By dukalmighty
  • 1 Post By glockman10mm
  • 1 Post By denver

Thread: An after action review of my new Lee Single Stage press

Ok, so this past Tuesday my Lee Challenger Breechlock press came in. I'm new to the mysterious craft of reloading, but have learned a couple of things during the past few months with my basic Lee Loader kit.

I just finished loading 275 rounds for my .357 magnum. It has been a bit of a learning experience because I've found that so many details can affect the outcome of the load.

I thought when I mounted the press to my bench that the linkage was free from contacting any part of the table. I was wrong. I had a few problems with getting consistent OAL because the bottom of the handle was striking the framwork of the bench.

Until I realized this was happening, I continued to fool around with the seating die, thinking it was moving slightly on it's own. I struggled with this through the first 150 rounds until I saw the handle hitting the table. Problem solved!

I continued on with a little bit more ease, but I was still having trouble with OAL. I figured I was doing something wrong with the die and figured I'd make a post... until upon further investigation, I realized that the XTP hollow points will actually deform ever so slightly when pressed into the case. The seating die never shifted on it's own, so I think I narrowed down the problem.