weighing powder question

This is a discussion on weighing powder question within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm new to reloading and have been gathering the necessary equipment to start to reload .40 cal. ammo I'm at the point where I will ...

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By gasmitty
  • 4 Post By bmcgilvray
  • 1 Post By Jaeger

Thread: weighing powder question

weighing powder question

I'm new to reloading and have been gathering the necessary equipment to start to reload .40 cal. ammo I'm at the point where I will soon be measuring my powder using the lee powder discs. Now when I weigh my charge on the scale and it reads something like 7.045 or 7.102 or whatever and it calls for just7.0 grains would the extra 10th or hundredth make a big deal? I know ideally 7.0 on the nose would be best because that is what it calls for but how accurate does it need to be and still be safe, I'm afraid if I am over just a bit I could harm myself or do I just need to worry about double charges? Thanks a bunch for all your help I am learning a lot on this forum with all the knowledge everyone has.

2. Remove Ads

auto and manual powder drops read some what high/lower after you set them. the different is not much and it will not make any different in the load. the only way to get them all the same is to weight each one on a scale. takes a long time to do this. so drop on and be happy. nothing will go wrong.
    An armed man is a citizen. An unarmed man is a subject.

Red State State of Mind

thanks for the quick reply. I plan on weighing every15 rounds or so would that be good or overkill? better safe than sorry.