Getting "serious" about the .38 S&W?

This is a discussion on Getting "serious" about the .38 S&W? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Part 1: (several parts coming & hopefully an attachment! (SEE .PDF ATTACHMENT IN POST#4) My bottom line up front (BLUF): you can take that modern-era ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Getting "serious" about the .38 S&W?

Part 1: (several parts coming & hopefully an attachment! (SEE .PDF ATTACHMENT IN POST#4)

My bottom line up front (BLUF): you can take that modern-era .38 S&W out of the safe and consider it for HD and SD like a standard .38 Special! Plinking, small game hunting, and even target loads are also readily achievable for handloaders. If that works for you, read on :-)

collection, targets.jpg rugers.jpg victories.jpg
    Early collection; Ruger Indian contract guns; Victories

“Consumer Safety Warnings”:
    I’m no expert! I’ve simply tried these loads over the past several years, with an eye towards SD/HD. Many need further development. To date, I still have my basic load of body parts.

Reduce by 10-15% and work up; my results ARE NOT pressure-tested. I used Smith I/J frames, Colt D frames, Ruger Indian Contract guns, and Enfield top-breaks, not grandpa’s old top-break. IMO, limit even modern H&R or Iver Johnson top-breaks to factory-level loads. I relied heavily on Ken Waters’s 1979 “Pet Loads” article, but he didn’t pressure-test. I also used published data, primarily Lyman 46-49, Lee 2nd, and Speer 13. A Speer Red Dot WC load ran hotter than expected.

topbreaks.jpg
    Vintage S&W topbreaks