Lead vs Cast?

This is a discussion on Lead vs Cast? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Ok don't flame me here guys but I have been reloading lead for several months.. This past weekend I took my CCW class and the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree34Likes

Thread: Lead vs Cast?

Lead vs Cast?

Ok don't flame me here guys but I have been reloading lead for several months.. This past weekend I took my CCW class and the instructor asked if anyone reloaded, I raised my hand and he asked if I used lead.... I said yes , he simply said "Don't there are other materials out there that are less expensive then copper".... When I shot my qualifier I asked him which materials he was referring to, so I could try them out... He said "Cast"... I said I thought lead WAS cast... he said something about here being something new thats being called cast....

So does anyone know what this CAST is? Is it just HARD CAST LEAD?

Just an FYI he said not to use lead because its a toxin, and even if you wash your hands after loading, that the gas produced by the powder burning the back of the lead on bullet fire ways heavy on the lungs and is VERY bad for you..

Feel free to comment any thoughts lol

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Not everyone is qualified to have an opinion on everything, but that don't stop 'em...

In general, cast bullets are made from lead mixed with other materials to increase the hardness of the bullet. I don't know of any pure lead bullets. Maybe there are some out there... I guess he's assuming that by saying lead, you must mean pure lead. Assuming you are buying quality bullets from a reputable bullet maker, calling them 'lead' or 'cast' amounts to the same thing. They're fine to reload with and shoot to your heart's content.

Personally I'd take what he said and give it the appropriate amount of reverence, then I'd find another CCW instructor and double check all the other "facts" he went over with you; just in case