Try different Powders and bullets?

This is a discussion on Try different Powders and bullets? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I have been reloading 9mm for a few months now and it feels like I'm printing money and then when I shoot at the range, ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Try different Powders and bullets?

I have been reloading 9mm for a few months now and it feels like I'm printing money and then when I shoot at the range, I'm spending the money I printed. Love it.

My question is, what difference would a different powder or bullet make to me? I target shoot at 7-15 meters. I have been using Hogdon HS-6 powder and FMJ round nose bullets at 115 grain.

Would I notice anything different with changing anything?

Thanks.

Sponsor
    At my current level of marksmanship, I simply look for components that are readily available and affordable for my pistol loads. I cast my own hard cast bullets and buy Barry's plated when I need "jacketed" ammo. Win231 and 700x are both decent powders for 9mm and .45acp. with 700x being my choice for my trap loads and Win231 being the best for small caliber loads like .32 acp as well. As I said, I look for economy/versatility in my pistol loading components.

A better pistol marksman could find improved groups by experimenting with their recipes the same as I do for my .308 precision cartridges. And I know folks who have a different powder for every gun,as well as every different caliber. I'm just not one of them.

There are a lot of things that come into play with choosing powder and bullets. Barrel length, twist rate, type of action, desired muzzle velocity, etc. You could spend years perfecting a load for a particular gun and and range only to find that a slight difference in the powder from a new batch makes a drastic difference in performance. I'm not quite that into it.