Cleaning the Primer Pocket

This is a discussion on Cleaning the Primer Pocket within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm very new to reloading. How important is it to clean the primer hole on your brass? What bad things can happen if you don't?...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Cleaning the Primer Pocket

Question Cleaning the Primer Pocket

I'm very new to reloading.

How important is it to clean the primer hole on your brass?

What bad things can happen if you don't?
    US Air Force, 1986 - 2007

"To disarm the people is the best and most effective way to enslave them..." George Mason

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Hodad's Avatar
    You might want to consider re-phrasing the title to your thread.

Just a suggestion LOL
    "Life is tough but it's really tough if you are stupid"

I seldom clean the primer pocket because I never have problems seating the primer. I poke the cleaning media out of the flash hole if needed.
    Good people do not need laws to tell them to act responsibly, while bad people will find a way around laws. Plato

VIP Member
    I am an old guy but that Primer Hole on your Brass is kinda funny .
    mano3 likes this.
    Member of the NRA
    {A}RMS discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property...Horrid mischief would ensue were the law-abiding deprived of the use of them
    1775 Thomas Paine
    Not afraid to live & Not afraid to die .

Primer Pocket....

OK - I told you I was new to this! LOL!

"To disarm the people is the best and most effective way to enslave them..." George Mason

I did it once. I did not notice a difference in those that were and were not. If you are doing rifle for extreme accuracy, I assume it could have some influence.
    dukalmighty likes this.
    BigJon

"Better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt" ~ Mark Twain