Unique Powder an the SP Snub

This is a discussion on Unique Powder an the SP Snub within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Just for everyones info, today at the range I had a second failure of my SP 101 2.4 snub. Would not rotate cyclinder. I had ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Unique Powder an the SP Snub

Just for everyones info, today at the range I had a second failure of my SP 101 2.4 snub. Would not rotate cyclinder. I had to eject rounds push spindle in an blow out unburnt flakes from under star. I have never had a problem with factory sd rounds just unique flake powder. Also nver had a problem with my smith revolvers just the SP very strange.

That's odd. I use unique in my loads for my 3inch sp101. I usually load light loads though for just plinking, but I've never had a problem. I'm still pretty new only been reloading a few years. I'm interested to hear what others have to say. Being a newbie I keep it pretty simple and use Unique and 2400.

Try tightgroup, also how are you unloading? It may be best if you tilt the gun upside down. If I remember right Unique is a pretty fast burning powder. Interesting that you are having this trouble.
    My rifle and pistol are tools, I am the weapon.

“Moral indignation is jealousy with a halo.”
    - H. G. Wells -

agalindo
    What was your load data? I've never had issues with unique in my wheel guns.

There was a thread not all that long ago (probably no more than 2 months ago), and in it it was mentioned that unique had changed its powder. If I get it right, they intended to the change to be seamless. That something about it would be "new", but that it would load exactly the same.

Well, that aint what happened. Instead IIRC it loads hotter. I think glockmann10 was up on this.

Having bought a number of bottles of unique last year, it got my attention. I have not touched my powder since reading that. I have others.