Reloading .40 concerns.

Reloading .40 concerns.

This is a discussion on Reloading .40 concerns. within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Ok I consider myself a newbie reloader. I've been doing it for a couple of years but only for my .38/.357. I usually load light ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Reloading .40 concerns.

Reloading .40 concerns.

Ok I consider myself a newbie reloader. I've been doing it for a couple of years but only for my .38/.357. I usually load light .357 loads. I don't have a 1,000 loads under my belt so pretty new. Just telling that so folks kind of know where I'm coming from. A few things I have read say loading for the .40 is difficult and risky at best because of the high pressures. The one article I read stated that the pressures for the .40 were in the mid to upper 30,000. Looking through my Lyman 49th ed I don't see any loadings with pressure over 24,000. What am I missing? The last thing I want to do is blow up my Sig or my hand.

VIP Member
    I don't load a lot of 40, but I use 3-4 loading manuals when I work up a load. If you compare data from a couple manuals and charge in the middle of the range, you should be fine. Don't make a ton, make up some, go to the range and test it out. If you and your gun like it make it up. You may need to experiment with a couple different powders to see it that makes things better. Watch your crimp if you crimp your 40.
    Eric357 likes this.
    Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything.
    Wyatt Earp

ok thanks.

I just looked on Hodgdon's website and they list most starting loads at around 25,500psi to 29,900psi, and most max loads at 32,400psi to 33,600.

Each powder and/or bullet maker will list different pressures, you just have to do some research concerning the components you want to use and learn what the different pressure ratings are. published loa