Gun Powder for Pistols

Gun Powder for Pistols

This is a discussion on Gun Powder for Pistols within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Im slowly setting up my gun dedicated gun and reloading room in a spare bedroom in preparation to start reloading. Ive decided on likely a ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree42Likes

Thread: Gun Powder for Pistols

Gun Powder for Pistols

Im slowly setting up my gun dedicated gun and reloading room in a spare bedroom in preparation to start reloading.

Ive decided on likely a lee turret press or a breech lock though I already have the most basic lee press a friend gave me but not sure if its worth using.

What is holding me up from really going on with getting it all done is I simply cannot find gun powder suitable to load 9mm or 40 S&W with. So not much use having a press room etc all ready and no powder

Old hand with guns but total noob to reloading. I have a bunch of brass saved. I can seem to find bullets primers but no powder.

Am I looking in the wrong spots or is pistol powder suitable for 9mm 40 45 actually that hard to find???
    " It is sad governments are chief'ed by the double tongues." quote Ten Bears Movie Outlaw Josie Wales

VIP Member
    I guess I'm a little confused... Are you looking for one powder that will work for all three, and having a hard time finding something that you feel will work well, or are you simply lamenting the lack of pistol powders that are on the shelves?

If you are looking for powders that will do all three maybe have a look at Unique or Power Pistol. I'm a fan of PP myself. I've never loaded it for .45 but it works well in 9 and .40, and I know folks that use it in .45. Unique works with darn near everything, so it's a good option too.

If you're having trouble finding powders on the shelf, I can't help you much unless you want to make a trip out my way. I can probably get you hooked up with some pistol powder if you do
    NRA Life Member