Question for you Dillon guys.

This is a discussion on Question for you Dillon guys. within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I have been reloading for almost 60 years now and have always used either a single stage or turret press. Thinking about getting a Dillon ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Question for you Dillon guys.

Distinguished Member Array coffeecup's Avatar

I have been reloading for almost 60 years now and have always used either a single stage or turret press. Thinking about getting a Dillon 550 B.

My first question is ------does a set of dies come with the loader and--can I use standard dies with it or do I have to buy all new Dillon dies?????

Any other tips and suggestions are more than welcome !!

THANKS !

Dies don't come with it. I have a couple sets of Dillon dies, but mostly use RCBS dies with it. If you plan on doing more than one caliber, I'd suggest picking up a couple tool heads so you can have the dies already set up. Just swap tool heads out.

You will need different caliber conversion kits depending on what calibers you'll be loading. These are significantly more expensive than a simple shell holder.

I still do most of my loading on an old Rockchucker, but I don't shoot the volumes I used to either. I only got the Dillon when I was hot and heavy in IDPA, USPSA and CAS. Loading a large volume of ammo is where the Dillon shines. I was shooting 12,000+ rounds a year then and simply did not have the time to sit at a single stage for hours. Besides not having the time, I simply can't afford to shoot those volumes anymore. That's when you could get 1,000 cast bullets for around $24.00.

You'll have to determine whether the cost of the unit is worth the amount you'll be shooting. If you're only shooting a couple thousand rounds a year like me anymore, I'd stick with a single stage.

Senior Moderator