Questions about Dillon 650

This is a discussion on Questions about Dillon 650 within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am getting ready to purchase a Dillon 650 reloading press. I want to reload the following: 9mm, .45 cal, 5.56, and 7mm-08. I use ...

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By shadowwalker
  • 1 Post By frankmako
  • 1 Post By OldVet
  • 1 Post By BigJon10125
  • 1 Post By PAcanis
  • 1 Post By flintlock62
  • 1 Post By Sea Wolf

Thread: Questions about Dillon 650

I am getting ready to purchase a Dillon 650 reloading press. I want to reload the following: 9mm, .45 cal, 5.56, and 7mm-08. I use the 7mm-08 for hunting. I have no experience with reloading and am getting multiple suggestions from different people.

A friend has suggested that perhaps I would not get the precise loads I need with a progressive press. I really don't have the space or the money for multiple press'.

Am I being unrealistic about what I want the press to do? Is it only good for "production" loading of handgun and AR ammo, or is it capable of giving me the precise loads I want for hunting as well?

I would be interested in hearing from people who actually own this Dillon press, rather than just hearing, "Buy an RCBS because I think it's better," without any rationale.

I owned a Dillon Square D and never had problems with any of the loads and I wished I had it back.
    G26Raven likes this.