total novice here

total novice here

This is a discussion on total novice here within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; thinking about a lee single stage press but have no ideal what all I need to get started, I own 9mm, .38 spc, .40 S&W ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: total novice here

total novice here

thinking about a lee single stage press but have no ideal what all I need to get started, I own 9mm, .38 spc, .40 S&W and .44 spc., may add a .357 mag. I have fired brass for every thing but the .44. most of it needs cleaned badly so I know I need a tumble cleaner of some kind but what all do I need to get started, be gentle I'm clueless in this game
    If it needs to be done, do it.

VIP Member
    There are a number of threads in this area that address this but I'll give you a brief list:

1. press
    2. dial calipers
    3. die set for every caliber you plan to reload
    4. priming device (some will do this on the press if you choose)
    5. powder measure
    6. scale
    8. reloading manual (or two)
    9. shell holder for every caliber (if your die set doesn't come with them)

Along with this stuff you'll need the consumables, so primers, powder and bullets.

A great way to get started is to just buy a starter kit. Lee and RCBS both make kits that will include the vast majority of the things on that list. Die sets and calipers will be generally what's left out. If you go with carbide dies you won't have to lube the cases. A brass tumbler is good to have but it's not absolutely necessary so buy one if you want or wait and get one a little later on. There will be plenty of little items that you'll eventually want to pick up but that pretty much covers the 'must have to get started list'.

Go pick up The ABC's of Reloading and read it before you do anything. It'll give you a very good overview of reloading and answer plenty of questions that you're going to have.
    NRA Life Member