Getting started reloading....advice?

This is a discussion on Getting started reloading....advice? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am thinking about reloading. I have never done this before and I am completely clueless about how to get started and what to get. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting started reloading....advice?

I am thinking about reloading. I have never done this before and I am completely clueless about how to get started and what to get.

So, any of you old salts out there care to dole out some advice to a reloading noob? I want to be able to reload 9mm, .40 and .357 to start out. I am looking to invest maybe $500. If that is unrealisticly low, please tell me.

What equipment do you recommend? Please, educate me or at least point me in the direction of education on this subject.

Thanks!
    ,=====o00o _
    //___l__,\____\,__
    l_--- \___l---[]lllllll[]
    (o)_)-o- (o)_)--o-)_)

Lead Moderator
    check out Dillons website, might give you some idea what it takes to get started. $500 might be a bit low price wise to start, especially for 3 calibers.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

Assistant Administrator
    Hi Mike .......... well first - get books!!!!

ABC's of reloading by Dean Grenell is a good baseline and then get maybe Lyman #47 - altho #48 is IIRC the current one. Speer #13 is useful and Richard Lee's second edition "Modern Reloading" is also handy.

Equipment? Well most will say get a 550 or 650 Dillon - progressive. I'd like one but too late. But you have to remember there are other things needed too - decent scales are handy plus a number of bits and pieces I almost forget these days.

Many folks think a start with a simple single station like a Rock Crusher is good and I do feel that a spell of slow (if tedious) handloading is a good beginning.