Felt recoil with different powders

This is a discussion on Felt recoil with different powders within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I've been reloading for several years. Started with shotshells then moved on to rifle and pistol. Does anyone have information on "felt recoil"? Especially where ...

Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By high pockets
  • 1 Post By Recon1342
  • 2 Post By hdhnict
  • 1 Post By dangerranger
  • 1 Post By TRX

Thread: Felt recoil with different powders

I've been reloading for several years. Started with shotshells then moved on to rifle and pistol.
    Does anyone have information on "felt recoil"? Especially where the only difference is powder.
    Same bullet, same velocity just different powder. Primarily pistol rounds.

Was talking to an old guy at the LGS awhile back. We were discussing felt recoil between similar pistols, but one was 9mm, the other was .45. There is a large difference in mass and peak pressure between those two rounds.
    Can a slower powder (lower peak pressure) produce " milder" recoil with the same bullet and velocity?
    There is no possession limit on Opinions. Take as many as you want!

I think you will find your answer in the fact that different manufacturers call for different loads for different powders in order to attain the same, or nearly the same, muzzle velocity, while staying within the proper SAAMI pressure specs.

Since one of Newton's Laws declares that every action has an equal and opposite reaction, it follows that loads that generate the same muzzle velocity will generate the same amount of recoil. If this hypothesis holds true, it will make no difference what powder you use, if you are developing the same muzzle velocity.