Best .40 S&W Powder

This is a discussion on Best .40 S&W Powder within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm new to reloading and will be buying a Dillon 550B sometime in very early November. I've been reloading some 9mm ammo on a friends ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best .40 S&W Powder

Best .40 S&W Powder

I'm new to reloading and will be buying a Dillon 550B sometime in very early November. I've been reloading some 9mm ammo on a friends Dillon over the last couple weeks (about 400-500 rounds - slow and steady way of learning - no reason to go for a speed record) using TiteGroup.

My question: Is TiteGroup a good powder for .40 S&W, or is there a better powder? I'm looking for a good powder to shoot target practice with either lead or FMJ rounds. I'm going to start with a 9mm, but will be adding a .40 S&W die set soon after I start to cover that part of my gun collection.
    Be Observant and Be Safe.

Current: S&W 442, Springfield XD9sc, XDm9, and Glock G26, G19, G23C,
    and SIG P226-40 TT, and Ruger GP-100, and Beretta 92FS
    Former: Taurus 92SS, SIG P220 TT, S&W 360, SIG P239-40, Ruger 22/45 MKII

2. Remove Ads

I've used Titegroup for range ammo, and I have no complaints. I've used Blue Dot and it worked well for me also. That's the extent of my .40 S&W powder experience...nothing wrong with Titegroup though. A little goes a long way.

Austin

I love titegroup and use it for both practice and USPSA matches. I'm considering loading up some self-defense loads with it too since I'm so comfortable and familiar with it's performance.

It might not be the best choice for lead bullets though, it burns hot and you'll likely get a lot of smoke. I only shoot plated and FMJ, but I hear that Clays works for a lot of people with lead bullets.

Senior Member Array Freedomofchoice's Avatar