Should I reload the 9mm?

This is a discussion on Should I reload the 9mm? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Out of habit I always collect my brass during a range session. I now have a few hundred rounds of once fired brass, and I've ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I reload the 9mm?

Senior Member Array Freedomofchoice's Avatar

Should I reload the 9mm?

Out of habit I always collect my brass during a range session. I now have a few hundred rounds of once fired brass, and I've been thinking of reloading. I'm no stranger to reloading; I've been doing it for many years, but I question whether or not it is cost effective in 9mm.
    Given the fact that I would be reloading for a Glock, it rules out lead bullets. When I crunch the numbers, I only come up with a saving of $35 on the first thousand rounds (factoring in $30 for a set of dies) over purchasing a thousand rounds of WW from Walmart.
    So, what do you guys think? Those who load for the nine...is it really worth it?

2. Remove Ads

Lead Moderator
    From what I have seen , match shooters tend to reload 9mm since the cost effectiveness isn't there like other calibers.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

Senior Moderator
    Those who load for the nine...is it really worth it?
    Yep.
    I would rather stand against the cannons of the wicked than against the prayers of the righteous.

AR. CHL Instr. 07/02 FFL
    Like custom guns and stuff? Check this out...
    http://bobbailey1959.wordpress.com/

VIP Member
    Yes....I think you should reload 9mm. Prices of factory-loaded ammo will go no where but up; in fairness, so will that of ammo components.

Once you amortize the cost of the reloading equipment, is when you'll see your savings. That savings, while maybe small, will increase the more you shoot, assuming you plan on shooting a lot.