reloading 40 caliber

This is a discussion on reloading 40 caliber within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; i am new to reloading and i usually shoot federal 155 grain jhp's and would like to reload a targe round that will have similar ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: reloading 40 caliber

reloading 40 caliber

i am new to reloading and i usually shoot federal 155 grain jhp's and would like to reload a targe round that will have similar characteristics to the federal ammo any suggestions?

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Reborn's Avatar

be careful

Be really careful reloader the 40 caliber. I had a brand new model 27 Glock and blew it apart during the first 50 rounds with reloaded ammo. I did the reload myself and have been reloading for many years. I happened to attend a Shot Show right after that incident. I learned that every brass maker doesn't intend for you or I to reload. I was using Accuracte Arms powder at the time. The specs that were used in there book was remove because reloading the 40 is dangerous. Because the shell on a semi-auto is unsupported at the back the end of the casing will blow off causing the pressure to run backward thru the gun. Ouch
    Psalms 144:1
    Blessed be the Lord my strength, which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight.
    Senior Instructor for Tactical and Defensive of Texas
    http://www.tac-def-tx.com/
    CHL INSTRUCTOR
    Retired LEO
    NRA member
    TCHA member

so are you saying don't reload 40 cal? i was under the impression if i stayed with the minimum loads out of a book like the 48th issue of lymans i would be fine? might really suck as i just came out of pocket for better then a grand getting set up to do this . i am terribly confused now my gunshop and gunsmith both reload and swear by it. and helped me get into it?

VIP Member
    I don't think Reborn is suggesting you not reload...he is saying just be careful.