Hodgdon Clays for 45 Auto and 38 Spcl

This is a discussion on Hodgdon Clays for 45 Auto and 38 Spcl within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm rather new to reloading handgun cartridges. I've loaded for rifle and shotshell since I was 12 (i'm 23 now). I started loading 45 ACP ...

Thread: Hodgdon Clays for 45 Auto and 38 Spcl

Hodgdon Clays for 45 Auto and 38 Spcl

I'm rather new to reloading handgun cartridges. I've loaded for rifle and shotshell since I was 12 (i'm 23 now). I started loading 45 ACP on my Dillon 550 recently. I started with 4.0 grains of Bullseye under a 230 grn LRN bullet. I achieved best accuracy and consistency with 3.6 grains of Bullseye but I am experiencing a significant amount of soot and gunk in my gun (Springfield XD45 4" Service). The chamber indicator is stuck half way up when the chamber is clear. I clean my gun thoroughly after each trip to the range. I cannot get the gunk out from under the chamber indicator. I'm not sure if the gunk and soot I'm experiencing is from the Bullseye or from the bullet lube on the lead bullet. I've always used Red Dot for 12 ga and Unique for 20 ga and my experience with both was that they burn somewhat very dirty. I'm going to give Hodgdon Clays a try as I've heard that it burns more cleanly. I'd also like to try Clays in 38 Special although soot is less of a problem in a revolver. Has anyone experienced significant soot issues using Bullseye? Will Clays yield less gunk and soot? Any other powder suggestions? Thanks in advance.

-Longo

2. Remove Ads

The problem with the loaded chamber indicator is most likely an accumulation of bullet lube. A good soaking in solvent should cure it.

Yes, Bullseye and Unique can be somewhat dirty. It is less likely to happen if you will run a bit higher pressures than you are now.

P.S. The soot will wipe right off.