Newb reloader questions

Newb reloader questions

This is a discussion on Newb reloader questions within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Hey all - I'm a complete newbie to reloading but with the prices of ammo going up (again) and from what I understand there's another ...

Thread: Newb reloader questions

Newb reloader questions

Hey all -

I'm a complete newbie to reloading but with the prices of ammo going up (again) and from what I understand there's another increase imminent, I think it's time to start making my own... I've been collecting brass for about the past year so I might as well put it to use.

I'd initially be reloading 9 mm and .45 ACP as those are the two calibers I and my shooting buddies shoot.

I'm thinking of buying one of those Lee Turret Press starter kits to get me started and a tumbler, etc.

Depending on who you read, you get different stories, so for auto handgun ammo:

1) Can you resize, reprime, drop powder, seat and crimp each round before moving on to the next one? It seems that's what a turret press really does but all the "tutorials" and books I've read say to clean, then resize all, reprime all, drop all powder, etc.

2) I shoot XD's and Glocks mostly, my dad has a 1911... what type of bullets work best? I want to avoid fouling as much as possible but want to keep the cost down as well. These are for paper targets only for now.

3) I understand that trimming cases isn't AS common when you're loading handgun casings. Is this true?

4) Are the Lee carbide resizing dies "full length?"

Thanks,
    Andy

1) Yes. That is what the Lee Classic Turret press does. All four operations in sequence and you get one loaded round. Then keep doing that.