Defensive Carry banner

Tubby's Guide to Loading and Shooting Lead Bullets

30K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  coffeecup 
#1 ·
Welcome to the madness. This thread is to discuss and enlighten reloaders as to the goings on with lead bullets, how to load them, how to shoot them, how to eliminate and prevent leading, and how they are made. Lead bullets behave differently than jacketed or plated and there are certain conditions and limitations that need to be addressed when using lead bullets. I will attempt to answer the most common questions and issues concerning lead bullets.

It is not my intent to sound arrogant or condescending. If it comes across like that, I apologize in advance. I tell it like it is. I am far from an expert, but do have a bit of experience in the lead bullet world. Since most reloaders here are not bullet casters I won't discuss much of it here but save it for another thread on how to cast bullets.

My qualifications are I have been handloading since the fall of 2006 and in that time, according to my notes, I have loaded over 100,000 rounds. I have been casting my own lead alloy bullets for a little over a year and have been running my own bullet casting business since October 2007.

With that out of the way, lets begin.

Lead bullets aren't usually pure lead. Muzzle loading and black powder firearms use pure lead bullets, but we will be focusing on smokeless powder firearms. Common lead alloys for bullets include three elements: lead, tin, and antimony. Lead makes up the bulk of the alloy. Tin is used as a hardening agent and also helps to fill the mold completely. Antimony is a hardening agent more so than tin. Tin also helps to increase the quality of the alloy, but is expensive. Prices are anywhere from $5-8 per pound.

Very few places start with virgin metals and mix alloys from that. They usually use scrap metals and mix the metals together to get the desired alloy. This is common especially in today's commodity markets.