Barrel Leading

This is a discussion on Barrel Leading within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I'm new to reloading for pistol. I've loaded and shot about 3,000 rounds over the last couple of months and the load I have sort ...

Thread: Barrel Leading

Barrel Leading

I'm new to reloading for pistol. I've loaded and shot about 3,000 rounds over the last couple of months and the load I have sort of settled on, seems to excessively lead my gun barrel. Gun function, ejection, feeding, and recoil with this load is sweet. The leading has not resulted in diminished accuracy (at least that I can tell, given my consistently crappy marksmanship) so much as its almost impossible to get the barrel perfectly clean. I do not have a chronograph and at this point have not chrono'd this load. I'd appreciate any suggestions. BTW its 45 ACP.

Load:
    Powder: 4 gr Clays
    Bullet: 185 gr LSWC, Brinell 18, .452 diameter
    Primer: Win
    Case: Mostly RP

Pistol:
    Ed Brown 5" Special Forces
    Last edited by ks1911; March 18th, 2008 at 10:18 PM. Reason: correction

2. Remove Ads

The only thing I can think of is try a jacketed bullet or maybe a .451 diameter, though I don't think 1/1000 is going to make that much difference. Are those bullets lubed? Maybe what you are experiencing is a build up of lube in the barrel?

Bullet diameter could be wrong. Did you slug your bore?

Bullet hardness is too hard and isn't sealing the bore. Switch to softer alloy. Multiply BHN number by 1422. That is the chamber pressure needed to seal the bore. Doing so is a hair under 26000. No way a 45 is going to reach that pressure safely.

Leading is: Deposits of bullet alloy that have been smeared into the surface of the gun's bore. In extreme cases,
    07/02 FFL/SOT since 2006

Assistant Administrator