School me Please

School me Please

This is a discussion on School me Please within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; Why can't a 380 be loaded with 9MM dies? I'm new to reloading but outside appearances seem to indicate that a 380 is only a ...

Thread: School me Please

School me Please

Why can't a 380 be loaded with 9MM dies? I'm new to reloading but outside appearances seem to indicate that a 380 is only a millimeter shorter than a 9MM. Seems like there must be some differences other than length that I'm not aware of.

Lead Moderator
    Without having the 2 casings to compare, the case dimensions and mouth probably differs some. Also the interior of the case gets resized with reloading as well. With the length difference , the crimp probably would not work correctly on the shorter case.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

According to the WikiPedia entries for .380ACP and 9mm Luger, there are some differences in sizing beyond mere case length.
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, SAF, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.

Do you have a good reloading manual? That manual will have all the case dimension for the two rounds.

The .380 is a 9x17 case the 9 mm Luger is a 9x19 case length, so it is actually 2mm shorter.

The outside dimensions of the case on the 9mm Luger are also larger than the .380. If you happen to shoot both of them and pick up the brass together then go home and sort it, it becomes apparent quickly that they are very different casings. You can quick learn to distinquish between the two other than just the length.