Any Experience with flechettes?

This is a discussion on Any Experience with flechettes? within the Reloading forums, part of the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics category; I am relatively new to reloading and I have always wanted to experiment with some military surplus flachette. I researched it a little bit on ...

Thread: Any Experience with flechettes?

Any Experience with flechettes?

I am relatively new to reloading and I have always wanted to experiment with some military surplus flachette. I researched it a little bit on the web, and found that it does such extensive bodily damage, that the military doesn't use it because it is in-humane. It is known to penetrate body armor at 500 yds!!!
    Has anyone experimented with it? and if so, what powder, and how many flachettes did you use?
    "Our Country won't go on forever, if we stay as soft as we are now. There won't
    be any AMERICA left because some foreign soldiery will invade us and take our
    women and breed a hardier race!"
    -Lt. Gen. Lewis B. "Chesty" Puller, USMC

2. Remove Ads

do you mean "Flechettes

Military Flechettes - Topic Powered by eve community

The above link is regarding reloading Flechettes

VIP Member
    And check your state regulations first. Flechettes are illegal in Florida
    You have to make the shot when fire is smoking, people are screaming, dogs are barking, kids are crying and sirens are coming.
    Randy Cain.

Ego will kill you. Leave it at home.
    Signed: Me!

Senior Moderator
    The flechettes out of a shotgun aren't that great. They had the most effect when loaded in the 105MM and 155MM howitzer rounds, they were known as "Beehive" rounds. They were used as a last ditch effort when camps or strongholds were being overrun. It was used to penetrate the thick jungle foliage.