Defensive Carry banner

Savings with reloading

3K views 27 replies 16 participants last post by  Landric 
#1 ·
So I am thinking about getting into reloading. Per 50 rounds how much do you save when you reload plinking loads? I will be shooting 45acp, 9mm, 38 sp. and 357mag

Thanks

#2 ·
Although I am still a newbie to reloading there is no doubt that I am saving money. My numbers do not include the cost of equipment. I am reloading for the 9mm.

Brass = 0 (I have tons of it that I saved over a long period of time)
Bullets = $0.08 per bullet (using Berry's Plated)
Primers = $0.03 per bullet
Powder = $0.01 per bullet

So that equals $0.12 per bullet or $12.00 per hundred.

#4 ·
Wake has it mostly right ... you can reload a box of 50 for $5-$7 (assuming you don't count anything for the time you invest). I find the bullets are the most expensive component, round for round. Although I try to keep the cost down to $.06-$.08 per bullet, in the last year those costs have gone up to $.10 or more (even for lead). Good bullets can run $.15 to $.20 each, or more. Brass is cheap (figure $50 for 500), so at $.10 each divided by an average of 10+ reloads each, that's a penny or less per round. Powder has also gone up. There are 7000 grains per pound, with powder running $20-$24 per pound around here. If you are shooting 9mm with 3-4 grains per load, powder is cheap. However, if you are shooting rifle or .44 mag, those costs can be higher than Wake indicates.